Our leadership programme is for Year 6-8 students at our school.   All Year 8 students are leaders and they play an integral part in helping to run our school.  The leadership opportunities vary from year to year.  In 2023 we have 11 leaders.  There are Year 8 leaders who facilitate these groups alongside staff members.  They also have Year 6 and 7 students supporting them.  Road Patrol is another example of a leadership opportunity offered to Year 6-8 students. 

All Year 7-8 students take part in administration tasks such as: bell ringing, daily notices, minding the phones at morning tea, collecting and delivering lunches, and helping our caretakers at regular intervals.  They are also given the opportunity to help with Junior lunch area duty.

Year 7 and 8 students practice their leadership skills by supervising classes at morning tea and lunchtime on wet or cold days.

At the end of the year, Year 7 students are surveyed and asked to choose the five Year 7 people who they think show the best WISE qualities in the school.  Each child is asked if they would like to be selected as a Y8 leader and the role they would like to take.  Senior school teachers and senior management are surveyed also and then leadership decisions are made over several meetings.  The final decision is always made by the Principal.  Some of these leaders are announced at the final school assembly and the previous year's leaders present their badges.  Other leadership roles are assigned the following year. 

At the Year 8 Graduation dinner each year we give out two special awards.  These are a Leadership Award and Citizenship Award.  These may be given to 1 or 2 students in each category.  Senior staff award these to students who have stood out throughout the calendar year.  They are chosen from the entire Year 8 group which includes the leadership team.

2023 Student Leadership group

School Leaders:  Run school events and fundraisers, show new parents through the school, speak at the ANZAC day service, help run school photo day, and are ambassadors for visitors and for our Transition to School meetings.  They attend the National Young Leaders Conference in April each year.

| Amelia McKinney | Bailey Robinson | Bostyn English | Chesca Bennett | Marcus Gill | Meila Toeke | Mia De Vries | 

Mya Johnson | Payton Ansley | Richard Rimoni | Sapphire Rogers | Shae Willis |

2022 Leadership Award Recipients

Oliver Grey and Aaysha Guiney

2022 Citizenship Award Recipients

Georgie Matthews and Pippa Wiseman

TPS Slide One