National Standards
In 2010 the National Standards were put in place.  The National Standards are used as a sign post to show where each child is at in reading, writing and maths.

National Standards aim to lift achievement in literacy and numeracy (reading, writing, and mathematics) by being clear about what students should achieve and by when. This will help students, their teachers and parents, families and whanau better understand what they are aiming for and what they need to do next.

Teachers gather information throughout the year on an ongoing basis to make an overall teacher judgement.

Overall Teacher Judgements (OTJs) use a range of assessments including;

What they have seen in class

Talking about learning with children

Children's assessment of their own and others' work

Results from formal tests

Teachers will use the overall teacher judgment to work out each child’s next learning steps and to set goals for their learning.

Parents are provided with reports that will let them know where there child sits in relation to the National Standards; after 1 year, 2 years, 3 years at school as well as at the end of Y4, Y5, Y6, Y7, Y8.

The Ministry of Education has developed a pamphlet to offer ideas to support your child as well as information about the achievement and progress that is expected at each level.  

Supporting your child      
After 1 Year at School After 2 Years at School After 3 Years at School End of Year 4
End of Year 5 End of Year 6 End of Year 7 End of Year 8